FAO all IT professionals...

you may or may not have read about me quitting my current job and trying to get into I.T. - mainly software development with C/VB.NET, ASP/PHP etc.

i have a (7 year old) degree in Software Engineering, boat loads of programming experience, but nothing commercial - and thats what employers need to hear. anyway, enough of the background, down to the point:

someone my parents know has suggested I go to a 'boot camp' where you get 2/3 week intensive training and end up with MCSE certification. however, looking at the site it just appears to be server/network management and nothing much to do with software development.

http://www.vibrantbootcamp.co.uk/microsoft/mcse_boot_camp.htm

http://www.trainingcamp.co.uk/uk/mcse2003.asp

is it worth me spending £5k on this course? are these microsoft certificates any good? are they better than my degree? are there any better options?

ive only got 2 weeks and then im jobless :headvswal

Its best to gear yourself as a total solution provider like my mate is. So you need web front end, java, php, .net middle end and SQL backend skills. MCSE's is for IT plumbers like me but if your doing devlopment go for a MSCD which is for devlopers. I hate academic work, as soon as i pick up a text book i fall asleep and i never really been able to afford a 'boot camp'. But im more managerial nowadays.

Waste of money, IMO. Just spend some time/money advertising yourself.

Also, have you considered Contracting? I never did but I've been at my current place for 19 months now and it's all good. You'd be surprised how bad PC knowledge is even at aerospace companies.

Good luck, mate.

Also, have you considered Contracting? I never did but I've been at my current place for 19 months now and it's all good. You'd be surprised how bad PC knowledge is even at aerospace companies.

Good luck, mate.