EDIT: thinking about buying a 300ZX

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am new to 300ZX and currently own a 2.2VTEC Honda Prelude which is a lot of fun but I am thinking of upgrading when I soon turn 25. I love the idea of a twin turbo engine and the power it must produce, I love the styling and the interior looks a lot more interesting than any modern BMW or Merc. I have many questions about buying the right 300ZX that hopefully you kind people can help me out with. Cheers.

1. Briefly, what are the different specs, models available. My brief research so far has led me to the 3.0L twin turbo and 3.0L non-turbo but is there such thing as a 4.5L TT or is it urban myth?

2. How does the Fairlady marque differ from the std or other marques?

3. what options packages are available? I have noticed that there a few examples on ebay with leather, is this very common? Are there any optional electrical packages on some and not others?

4. are all 300ZX imports? If not, do JDM and UKDM specs differ in any way?

5. over what period were 300ZX’s produced? Is it best to go for the newest/lowest milage example possible?

6. when are the major services due (belt’s etc)?

7. What are the common problems that occur on 300ZX when they reach this length of life?

8. I have noticed on ebay and Autotrader that most examples are automatics. I would prefer a manual. How rare are they and do they cost much more than autos?

9. do they have LSD’s?

10. Are they all convertible or the T-bar thing?

We mainly have the 300ZX Z32 model (ran from 89 -94 in the UK and to 2000 in Japan).

It comes in normally aspirated (NA) (about 225bhp) and twin turbo (TT) (about 280bhp) forms.

It also comes in two seat (or SWB) and 2+2 (or LWB).

Also(!) you can get it with targa roof or plain metal (also known as slick top). There are true convertibles too but they're all NA.

No 4.5 was ever made by the factory.

Uk are all TT 2+2 with leather. Imports vary.